RSS Feed

Loaded Potato Soup

Posted on

Today is the official last day of winter, so I thought I’d have a bowl of soup to honor its passing.

1 medium onion – finally chopped

1 tbsp butter (I used Kerrygold reduced fat. I like the flavor it adds.)

1 cup chicken broth

1 cup fat free half and half

1/2 pound red potatoes – cubed

1 1/2 cups Kraft shredded Three Cheddar cheese

1/4 cup Dos Perros Ale (or any other ale since that one is regional)

salt to taste

shredded cheese and bacon bits topping

Saute the chopped onion in butter over medium heat until softened. Pour in the broth and half and half, then drop in the potatoes. Let it slowly come to a boil, and then reduce heat to low and cook until the potatoes are soft.  Smash the potatoes in the pot, then slowly add the beer. (It’ll foam a bit…that’s why slowly.) Toss in the cheese and stir until melted. Top with bacon bits and cheese so that it looks like this:

About mswithapan

Trying my best to eventually make money with food, because it's what I love to do.

6 responses »

  1. Okay question for you. I LOVE potato soup, but I never make it because of the fat/calories. I noticed you used fat free half & half. How did that work out? I’ve never tried it in anything.

    Reply
    • I love fat free half & half. I use it in everything. I’ve even used it in puddings and flan (along with fat free condensed milk). I even put it in coffee sometimes.

      Reply
      • Hmm…I’ll give it a shot then! I need to learn to make flan because I would bathe in it if it were socially acceptable. I love it with caramel sauce goodness. Yum!

        I always learn so much from your blog. Love it!

      • It’s one of my favorites too. I always want to fall face-first in it and see if I can happily drown in heaven.

      • I am about to make a microwave lemon curd recipe. I’m hoping I don’t ruin it! Eep!

  2. This looks good. I’m going to give it a try. Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

