RSS Feed

Oven-fried Chicken with Raspberry Jalapeno Sauce.

So, today felt like lazy food.

In fact, I have to admit, it feels like a lazy blog day. So, no story, just food.  I’ll make it up to you later with some exciting story about how I chased down wild guacamoles.

Needed for this food:

4 Boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1 tablespoon cayenne pepper

2 tablespoons cilantro (I have dried cilantro that I use in everything, but fresh works too)

1 cup fat free or reduced fat buttermilk

2 cups panko crumbs

salt and pepper to taste

Sprinkle the cilantro and cayenne pepper over the chicken and cover with the buttermilk, letting it soak for at least an hour, turning it once or twice.

Preheat the oven to 400 and mix the rest of the ingredients in another bowl.  Swirl each piece of chicken around in the buttermilk to make sure it’s coated, then dip it in the bread crumb mixture.  I put mine on a baking sheet covered with parchment paper, because as previously mentioned, lazy.  Bake for approximately an hour, until crispy.

 

While that’s baking, drop a handful of frozen raspberries into a small saucepan, about a 1/4 cup, over medium to high heat.  Slice two jalapenos, I left the seeds in mine for extra spiciness, and toss them in the pan. Add 1/4 cup of white vinegar, three tablespoons of raspberry jam, and a tablespoon of sugar.  Let it cook over low heat, stirring occasionally.

 

After everything is all done and put together, it’ll look mostly like this:

I served it with a baked sweet potato and spinach for added yumminess. Live long and prosper.

About mswithapan

Trying my best to eventually make money with food, because it's what I love to do.

2 responses »

  1. That looks yummy. Good stuff!

    Reply
  2. I can’t wait to make this. I was drooling while reading. Yum!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

