RSS Feed

Artichokes Aren’t Evil!

I always looked at those pointy little monsters and though…hm…no.

I love them.  Spinach and artichoke dip is one of the best things on the planet.  I realized after I made bagels that it was ridiculous to fear a vegetable.  They are vegetables, right?  Anyway…not the point.  I needed to get over this arti-phobia. What I found out is that you can roast them.  ROAST THEM.

This is so easy, you just need a list of ingredients, not amounts.

Artichokes

Garlic – minced

Olive oil

Lemon juice

– The end.

Preheat the oven to 425.  Cut the top parts and the stems of the artichokes off. About 1/4 or 1/3 off the top.

They turn brown pretty quickly, so hit them with some lemon juice.  Spread a bit of the minced garlic over the top.  I put about half a tablespoon on each of the artichokes. They sit up really well after you cut the stems off, so you can set them on individual pieces of foil, enough to wrap them up and seal them.  Drizzle some olive oil over the top and go ahead and wrap them up really well. Put them on a cookie sheet and pop them in the oven for an hour and twenty minutes.

You can peel them down, piece by piece, and eat all the bits off the petals.  I made a dipping sauce that was about 1 to 1 melted butter and lemon juice with dill.

About mswithapan

Trying my best to eventually make money with food, because it's what I love to do.

3 responses »

  1. Yummmmm! I love artichokes, but I too have arti-phobia. You made it look really easy, so I’ll give it a shot! Thanks for the recipe 🙂

    Reply
  2. LOVE Artichokes!! I usually add Cavendar’s Greek Seasoning, or Old Bay to the recipe you have. The idea is to steam them, and you can do them in the microwave too. I put them face down in a casserole dish with 1/4″-1/2″ of water. If the lid doesn’t close, then I cover with saran wrap. You just cook them until the center of the stem is soft.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

