RSS Feed

Bacon Jam.

No fancy tagline needed here.

I fell in love with bacon jam from having it on a jalapeno cheeseburger. See, this story just gets better and better, right? I decided that this would have to be something I must have more of in my life.  After reviewing recipes, I decided it was one of those things that would be more satisfactory to put into the crockpot and stare at for a while. I also had to toss around my ingredient amounts for a while to decide on the best line of attack.

Here is my final list:

1 pound of bacon, cut into pieces

1 medium red onion (though, I’m considering half red-half yellow for my next batch)

4 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 cup apple cider vinegar

1 cup strong coffee

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 tbs Lousiana hot sauce

Cook the bacon until it’s crunchy and brown, drain it and pour off most of the grease, keeping some in the pan. Let it rest on a paper towel to soak up more of the grease. (You don’t need the fat in your life, right?)  Use the tiny bit of grease left in the pan to cook the onions and garlic until softened.  Add the rest of the ingredients and cook them long enough to get all the tiny bits of bacon left in the pan back into the sauce.  After you can feel with your spoon that there’s nothing left on the bottom of the pan, pour the whole bit and the bacon into the crockpot.  Leave it on high with the lid off for 3 1/2 to 4 hours. Try not to eat it directly out of the pan.  When it’s been in there that long, put everything into a food processor or blender and chop it into a spreadable sort of substance.

I haven’t had it made long enough to find out how, other than on burgers and by the spoonful, it’s good.  I’m afraid that my next batch will have to be tripled, because it doesn’t make a ton.  By all accounts, it should stay good for about four weeks in the refrigerator.

 

About mswithapan

Trying my best to eventually make money with food, because it's what I love to do.

7 responses »

  1. Well you know one day I’m gonna make jam! I might as well start with this one! Haha! It sounds delicious.

    Reply
  2. Sounds amazing. I’m not a coffee fan though. How strong is the coffee flavor and do you have any recommendations for a substitute?

    Reply
  3. That sounds amaze-balls. And simple enough that I *could* make it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

