RSS Feed

Dos Perros Chicken Soup

I wasn’t planning on posting anything today.  Frankly, I’m shocked.  I was just going to fix some soup.  The weirdest thing happened, though.  I ended up liking it, and I don’t like soup…unless it’s onion soup..covered with cheese…or loaded potato soup…covered with cheese and bacon. What I’m trying to say is, what the crap?  This could be the end.

 

What you need!

One medium chicken breast – diced

Two red bell peppers – also diced

Two medium Russets – again with the dicing

Half an onion – Just chop it little, k?

3/4 bottle of Yazoo Dos Perros Ale**

1/4 cup bacon bits

1 cup fresh spinach

Ground red pepper – to taste

Salt – to taste

A tiny bit of olive oil to cook your chicken

(I’m always amazed at my scientific measurements. I find it ridiculous, though, to call for half a cup of chicken.  I always ponder at those recipes. What if my chicken breast isn’t half a cup?  Do I cut up another one?  Do I change the other ingredients to match? Will the kitchen explode if I veer off? Anyway!)

Put the chicken and ground red pepper in with the olive oil and brown the chicken, then add the onions and peppers.  Cook until tender (about three minutes or so) over medium heat, then add the 3/4 beer.  Drink the other 1/4 of the beer, nobody’s looking.  Add the potatoes and cook over medium heat until they’re soft.  That’s when you salt, because…now everything is done.  Toss in the bacon bits and spinach at the last minute, the spinach will do that thing it does when it hits hot liquid, but you need a green vegetable.

**Side note: Yazoo is a Nashville brewery.  If for some reason, you are not in my area and you happen to be reading this, I love you…no wait…I mean any other ale should do fine.

About mswithapan

Trying my best to eventually make money with food, because it's what I love to do.

7 responses »

  1. Witty, informative and entertaining!

    Reply
  2. That looks so yum! If I haven’t told you before, I’m super jealous of how you can take things from the pantry and make them into something beautiful and tasty like that. Without a recipe I’m scared to death!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

