RSS Feed

Red pepper, sundried tomato chicken with orzo

So, many things have been going on, and I was concentrating on a recipe that involved roasted red peppers and sundried tomatoes for http://letsgetfoodie.com/ and realized that I had to eventually cook dinner.  The only reasonable conclusion I could come to was to combine the thoughts to renew my “smell familiarity” with the peppers and tomatoes.  (Yeah…I smell things to see how they’re going to taste. I realized the other day that I could smell if something needed salt. It’s sad.)

Here’s what I came up with:

Two boneless, skinless chicken breasts – sliced and pounded not quite flat

Two roasted red peppers (I used Mezzetta – packed in water) – chopped

Four medium pieces of sundried tomatoes packed in olive oil – chopped

1/4 cup I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter spray (Hey, use butter if you want…I won’t judge.)

1/2 cup white wine (This time I used Chardonnay. It was open)

1 tsp lemon juice

1/2 cup sliced baby portobello mushrooms

1 cup fresh baby spinach

1 cup orzo

salt to taste

Heat half the butter in a frying pan while you slice the chicken breasts in half to make them a little thinner and pound on them a bit.    When the butter is sizzling (not brown) and the pan is hot, carefully place the chicken.  Cook it until browned, turning a few times.  While you’re turning it, put your pan of water on for your orzo. It takes about nine to twelve minutes for orzo, depending on your taste.  I am a nine minute orzo girl.

Pull the chicken out and set it aside, but leave the heat on and the pan where it is.  Deglaze the pan with the wine and toss in the tomatoes and peppers.  Let them simmer on low heat and put in the rest of the butter spray.  Toss in the mushrooms and basically just let them get warm and saucy, which should take about three minutes.  Put the spinach in and just let it wilt.

I put two small scoops of orzo on the plate and carefully placed the chicken on top, then covered them with the “sauce”.  It’s not really saucy, but it does the job.

About mswithapan

Trying my best to eventually make money with food, because it's what I love to do.

Leave a Reply

