RSS Feed

Buffalo Chicken Soft Tacos

I often roam around the internet (especially pinterest) looking at other people’s ideas for food, then adapting them to my own taste. I found a recipe for crockpot buffalo chicken sandwiches using bottled buffalo sauce, and this is what it looked like when I got done with it.

It’s important to note how I feel about bottled buffalo sauce, and that is summed up in one word, “No.”  My personal choice on hot sauce is simple.

You might notice that the above bottle is a 32 oz bottle and it’s half empty. Anyway!

I got a regular pack of boneless, skinless chicken breasts and tossed them straight into the crockpot with 3/4 cup of Louisiana Hot Sauce and let it cook on low for about six hours.  When it’s done, you can mash it with a spoon and it’ll break apart into a lovely barbecue style sort of meat.  At this point, I added about 1/4 cup more hot sauce and let it simmer for another few minutes.  Add two tablespoons of butter to smooth out the taste.  I do not need that much more fat added to my life, so I used fat free spray butter.

I topped it with chopped Romaine lettuce, diced tomato, diced avocado, shredded cheese and just a little dot of Bleu cheese dressing (see…this is where I used that extra fat).

About mswithapan

Trying my best to eventually make money with food, because it's what I love to do.

Leave a Reply

