RSS Feed

How I messed up Red Velvet and still won.

I had this plan to make Red Velvet cupcakes this week.  I took it for granted that I had all the ingredients, which was probably pretty silly on my part. The recipe I was making made 16 to 20 cupcakes, and I didn’t really want that many, so I decided to half it.  I promptly forgot this.  See!  I have all the makings for a disaster! It’s the perfect storm!

So, with this recipe, I created the Chocolate Mistake cupcakes.

1 stick of butter, room temperature

1 cup granulated sugar

1 egg

2 tbsp cocoa powder

1 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp vinegar (that was also a mistake)

Bake for about 20 minutes at 350 degrees.

 

As a person who isn’t a fan of chocolate, I found these to be reasonably delightful. Not too sweet, and very soft.  They had a slightly crispy crust on them that was sort of like angel food, which I love.  I swirled a little pre-made cream cheese frosting on them, topped them with sprinkles and that was that!

About mswithapan

Trying my best to eventually make money with food, because it's what I love to do.

Leave a Reply

